The Twenty Treatises

The Twenty Treatises, is the name of a book written by Mirza Ahmad Ashtiyani, which has been compiled by “Reza Ostadi”.

The author
Mirza Ahmad Ashtyani, son of Mirza Hasan Mujtahed Ashtyani. He was an expert scholar at intellectual and transmitted sciences. He studied in the presence of the philosophers “Kermanshahi” and “Ishkewari. Ashtyani taught jurisprudence, methodology (Osul) and intellectual#### sciences over forty years in Tehran. About 1927 – 1932 traveled to Njaf in order to complete the transmitted sciences and he himself was teaching. He taught “Asfar” (written by mullah Sadra) and many prominent scholars of Najaf attended his classes. “Allameh Tabatabaei” studied some parts of the lesson (Asfar) in his presence. Ashtyani died in 1975 and was nearly 100 years old.

Structure of the book
The book consists of 14 Persian treatises and 6 Arabic treatises, as following:

Persian treatises:
1- The fixed saying
2- The purified word
3- The capital of bliss (monotheism, prophecy, Imamate and resurrection)
4- The reasons for monotheism
5- The reminder (on monotheism)
6- On monotheism and resurrection
7- The useful explanation
8- Exegesis of the Quranic verse: Say: “the spirit [operates] at my Lord’s command, while you have been given only a smattering of knowledge” (17/ 85)
9- Ethics and monotheism
10- Eidiyyeh (Festive Day)
11- The manner of praying
12- Book of worship
13- On Reading
14- Ahmadiya gift (the Prophet’s gift)

Arabic treatises:
1- Explanation of ideology
2- Ahmadiya gift (the Prophet’s gift)
3- Alwelaya (Guardianship)
4- Purpose of the path
5- The selected traditions (Prophetic Hadiths)
6- Light of guidance

Sources :

  1. The Twenty Treatises (Mirza Ahmad Ashtiyani)