The fourteen treatises

فارسی English 1542 Views |

This book is one of the works of the celebrated scholar “Fakhr Razi”.

the author

Abu Abdullah Muhammad Ibn Umar Ibn Hossein Tabaristani Razi, also known as "Imam Fakhr", Ibn al –Khatib" ,"Fakhr Razi" and also "Imam al- Mushakkekin" (because he doubted about most of the philosophical subjects), a famous Iranian Sunni theologian and philosopher. He was born in 1149 in Ray –Iran and died in 1209.

He studied jurisprudence and Kalam and other Islamic sciences under his father and then studied under Majduddin Jili.
He wrote on medicine, astrology, physics, literature, history and law.
Fakhr Razi was from "Shafi'i" of Islamic law.

Razi's most major work is "The keys to the unknown" (his exegesis on the Quran) and his most important philosophical work is "Eastern discussions".

Other works:
- Eastern studies in metaphysics and physics
 The harvest thought of the ancients and moderns-
 Book on the soul and the spirit and their faculties-
 Commentary on the "Isharat" of Ibn Sina-
- A commentary on "Major rules in medicines" of Ibn Sina, etc


The book structure

It includes 14 treatises as follows:

1- On megaton of direction and place (including 2 chapters)
2- On monotheism (6 chapters)
3- The principles of religion (8 chapters)
4- On soul (2 chapters)
5- On Muslims and polytheists (6 chapters)
6-On agriculture
7- The Bird Treatise (Resat al- Tayr) (written by the celebrated philosopher “Suhrawardi”)
8- The origin and Resurrection
9- Explanation of the Bird treatise
10- The story of “simorg and Qaaf Mountain” (simorg is a fabulous bird in Persian literature)
11- “Par two Nameh” (the Book of Beam)
12- The gardens of hearts (Rawzat al- Qolub), etc.



The fourteen treatises


0 Comments Send Print Ask about this article Add to favorites